Belgium is organised into three communities (Flemish-speaking, French-speaking, and the German-speaking) as well as regions (Flemish, Walloon, and the bilingual Brussels-capital region). The communities are responsible for issues such as culture, education, and most importantly for the languages in their respective language areas. By contrast, the regions are in charge of economic and enegry polices, as well as transport, and the environment. This division leads to two deaf associations being in place, Flemish speaking and French speaking Federations of the Deaf Belgians.

Related Articles

UNCRPD Training at FFSB
European Elections Update
Pre-sessional working group in Geneva

back to top