The European Commission (EC) is the 'engine room' of the EU. It is one of 3 main EU institutions; the other two are the European Parliament (EP) and the Council (of the European Union). The Commission prepares legislation for adoption by the Council (representing the member countries) and the Parliament (representing the citizens). It administers the budget and the policy programmes (Agriculture, Fisheries, Research etc.) in cooperation with authorities in the member countries. The EC also services the 28 EU Commissioners.

Clear majority of Members of the European Parliament adopts resolution on the implementation of the UNCRPD by the EU
Development of a European pillar of social rights and on inclusive growth
High Level Group disability meeting
Consolidating the ground for implementation: 10 years after the UNCRPD
Launch of the 2017 edition of the European Award for Accessible Cities

back to top